Sojourn

Posted: July 18, 2012 by Jinkchak in Short Stories
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Poetry is the universal language which the heart holds with nature and itself” –      William Hazlitt.

They say, “A picture is worth a thousand words” – Hope you enjoy the 9000 words in the slideshow below. 🙂

A simple Google search reveals that “If a picture is worth a thousand words, then a video must be worth a million words“. Is this statement true? Find out for yourself by watching the video below.

Feeling a little dizzy and queasy;
Travelling up the Western Ghats’ winding slopes;
I persuaded myself to relax and take it easy
as Nature filled my mind with pleasant hopes.

Seated atop an enormous elephant,
gazing at the landscape around me;
At that juncture, nothing seemed as magnificent
as the aroma and sight of trees and leaves of tea.

Up in the mountains, there came a moment in time
when, by a white shroud, I was surrounded.
Under a spell of rain, the scene seemed so sublime
that, for awhile, I imagined I was blinded.

My fascination, I must admit,
of my first encounter with a wild Nilgi Ibex,
scampering away, possessed by a restless spirit
which seemed far too complex.

Espied at a Tata Tea Museum somewhere in Kerala;
Machinery to produce Kannan Devan Tea;
Remnants of Technology from a bygone era;
A documentary film for visitors to see.

Of which place do I speak?
A hill station, divine in its creation!
Munnar is the name you seek!
Sojourn here with no hesitation.

Greetings from Me…yeah ME!

Leave a Reply

