Say Hello To Duck Tales

Posted: August 1, 2011 by Jinkchak in Short Stories
Tags: , , , , , ,

Making an effort to get out more often and spend lesser time attached to my computer, I decided to head to Sankey Tank.

Many years had gone by since I had actually visited Sankey Tank, Bangalore. I travelled along the road that’s (not?!) going to be widened now, and I remembered how less the traffic used to be. If there hadn’t been any chopped-trees along the sidewalk, I might have admired the scenery now…

I entered the park, and was literally amazed at how it had been beautified. Last time I had seen it, it was very small, and most of the area had been covered with loads and loads of garbage. The Bhuttawallahs were still present outside the park, as they had been all those years ago, though people weren’t allowed to carry bhuttas into the park.

It was a warm Saturday evening when I stepped into the park, and walked towards the water to admire the sunset. I looked at the trees and was glad that I was filling my lungs with good air. It was at that time that I heard some noises below me, and I turned to find out what that ruckus was all about, and I was greeted by a number of ducks, with friendly “quacks”.

There were the normal Peking ducks, along with some Ugly Ducklings (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Ugly_Duckling), and there were some ducks with red beaks (I had never encountered before).

I observed their movements, and began shooting videos of them (I don’t come across ducks too often), and soon, I was hit by a wave of nostalgia. For some unfathomable reason, I remembered a cartoon I used to watch when I was a kid. It was called “Duck Tales” starring Uncle Scrooge and his great-nephews (Huey, Dewey and Louie), and used to be shown on the DD Metro channel, every Friday at five in the evening. I remembered how I used to enjoy the numerous exploits of the ducks against the Beagle Boys, and also, Gyro’s crazy inventions.

I reminisced for a long time as I shot those videos, and finally, when I escaped from that stupor, I longed to go back to that time, when life seemed so much easier; when choices were few; but as long as time travel is impossible, I will just have to cherish these memories…

The Sun had set and it was now time to leave. As I left, I turned up towards the sky and saw colonies of bats flying in the air!

It’s funny how Sankey Tank and the ducks brought back lots of memories (related and unrelated). Sankey Tank – A peaceful place in an urban jungle! So near, yet so far!

Leave a Reply

