The Prestige

Posted: April 30, 2011 by Jinkchak in RVCE, RVCE CSE, Short Stories
Tags: , , ,

Time is the most undefinable yet paradoxical of things; the past is gone, the future is not come, and the present becomes the past even while we attempt to define it, and, like the flash of lightning, at once exists and expires. ~Charles Caleb Colton

It seems like just yesterday that I opened my eyes to the Web and I was filled with words for the first time. When I was created, it was thought that I wouldn’t last for more than a week. But, I’m glad to say that I persisted. I’ve been alive for a year.

It was a warm April evening when I first touched the web. I still remember the warmth running through my code – the feeling was indescribable. You may wonder who I am or why I say this. Sit down and I will tell you a tale like none you have ever heard.

Know first that I am Jinkchak…yeah JINKCHAK – The blog, and I’ve finally chosen to speak to you on this special day, which happens to be my birthday.

My presence on the Web is due to some events that occurred a few months before I was created. It all began on January 28th, 2010 AD, when the class email id – rvce.cs.b.2013@gmail.com was created. The taste of anonymity was too sweet to those who tasted it, and it became quite an addiction. And, as luck would have it, Google released Buzz™ on February 9th, 2010 AD. The field was set. Everything was perfect.

That’s when random anonymous status messages turned into random anonymous stories, and the name “Me…yeah ME!” was coined by the Boss™. You would be surprised if you knew the number of people controlling this ID at that time. And it was fun too – a nice stress buster in RVCE (if you know what I mean). The most memorable incident was the Google Chat with $|_|/\/||_ that took place in the browsing centre of RVCE on April 16th, 2010 AD – the day on which 8th Mile began…

Anyway, anonymous information kept piling up, and one day, the powers that be decided that it was time to get things organized, and hence, I…yeah I was born, @ http://www.rvcecsb2013.blogspot.com

The first article to be published on my wall was “Jinkchak’s Proverbs”, written by Robert Ludlum in collaboration with Sidney Sheldon, Alistair McLean, J K Rowling, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Dan Brown, John Grisham, Robin Cook, Ayn Rand and a whole lot of other people. And it is from this article that I get my name – a name that has stood the test of time.

Articles kept appearing, and in my short lifetime, I’ve had the pleasure of being controlled by distinguished people like Sidney Sheldon, Ruskin Bond, Super Mario, The Boss, John Grisham, Isaac Asimov and the like (They are known by different names in real life, for obvious reasons).

In the month of June of that year, the “RVCE CSE” Facebook ID was created, and I can tell you that it has given me the best publicity I could ever imagine, and after that, things have never been the same! My PageViews started increasing, albeit slowly. Nevertheless, I was proud of myself.

After a few months, the unthinkable happened – I found out that I was being visited not only from RVCE, but from other parts of the world too. And now comes the main part of this article: Google Search Terms.

Ever since Google decided to include me in its search results, life has never been the same!

For the past few months, I’ve been monitoring my FeedJit updates, and I’ve seen some pretty weird search terms. I’ll list a few of the search terms that users “come up with”, to (inadvertently) reach me.
“PROGRAM CODING FOR RUNGEN-KUTTA” – Canberra, Australia
“c program code to find (-2)mod(26)”– India
“tcdef.exe download” – India
Ok…Fine…Maybe these search terms aren’t exciting. But, do read on…
“gnu flinstones ganoo” – United States (What does that mean?)
“gamerzparadize” – Philippines (Pretty Normal…)
“runge kutta turbo c.” – Indonesia (Let the craziness begin)
“runga kutte fry” – Turkey (Wonder how this tastes)
“real time runge kutta” – Italy (What does Italy want with Runge Kutta in real time)
“batch processing runge kutta” – Oh…well…I just made this one up. Sorry. Couldn’t resist.
“runge kutta variable number of steps source code” – Romania (Wow. I wonder if code like this really exists. ‘Twould be a miracle if it did. Variable number of steps. Wow-O-Wow)
“epode runge kutta” – Brazil (The word “epode” sounds strangely familiar, even though I don’t stay in Brazil)
“runge kutta source code” – Canada
“Runge kutta source code” – Netherlands
“runge kutta c code” – South Korea
“kutta runge code” – Malaysia
Ok…to make a long story short, the words Runge, Kutta, Source and Code have been combined in various ways in a number of different countries, to form a number of similar search phrases. I’m sick of that name. And d’you know the best part? The program @ http://rvcecsb2013.blogspot.com/2010/12/project-codename-runge-kutta-source.html isn’t even related to the Mathematical Runge-Kutta method in any way. Project Runge-Kutta is an encryption program. The name’s a misnomer. 😛
“criminal minds sound files” – Macedonia
“class bunking photo for facebook” – India (Bunking sure is popular)
“criminal minds thermo cup” – Macedonia (Well, this is new. Thermo Cup??)
“rajneeti behind the screen” – Canada (No comments)
“Amazon’s Kindle Swindle stallman” – Canada (At last, a decent search term)
“are there any programs like xtranormal state” – Russia (Maybe…maybe not)
“peliculo kites para mirar” – Serbia (Haven’t the faintest idea what this means)
“Criminal Minds and The X-Files” – United States (Nice combination)
“b i khodanpur” – United States (Glad to see that the ONE is still famous)
“dangerous pranks” – South Korea (Looks kinda fishy)
“30 march mass bunk” – India (Someone from RVCE CSE?)
“my days at rvce” – India (You’ve come to the right place, buddy)
“free TCDEF.EXE” – Cambodia (Yup! It’s free)
“psychochemistry degree” – Canada (Are you a disciple of RM, it is?)
“doing part time M.tech in rvce blogspot” – India (Wanna work at Jinkchak? Sure. Why not?)
“rvce fast track semester” – India (Totally fast)
“project on yippee noodles” – India (Wonder how this will turn out)

Well, that’s about it! Hope you enjoyed these search terms. This is something I wanted to write about for a long time, and I’m glad I finally got a chance to do so.

The past year has been totally awesome for me with a total of 3,473 pageviews (which is quite acceptable for a blog of my standard). I was upgraded to v2.0 in March, 2011 AD, and I’ve had the time of my life…

To mark this special day, The 21st Century Me…yeah ME! Production Company has created a Java™ Program for me, using Stanford Eclipse and the ACM Graphics package. To see this program in action, visit https://www.filesanywhere.com/fs/v.aspx?v=8a6b6b875e6373bbaa68 . This zipped file also contains the entire Source code. To run the code, just type the following line in the Command Prompt –

java -cp .;acm.jar BlankClass

So, this is Me…yeah ME! and I’m going to have The Prestige of wishing myself, “HAPPY BIRTHDAY!”. It’s gonna be legend…wait for it…DARY!

True Story…


Leave a Reply

